random ramblings

Of Book Blogging and Uncertainties

books-book-blogging-bookwormPhoto by Annie Spratt

I’ve been hovering over the idea of creating a book blog for the LONGEST time and I have to say my bookworm friends have been nothing but supportive of the idea. I just didn’t (still don’t) have the confidence to keep it going because well firstly, I don’t even write reviews on Goodreads that often, how the heck am I supposed to sustain an entire blog? Secondly, I feel like I’m just too lazy to see through everything. Sure it would nice to own a platform that I could just go to and blab out all my thoughts. But like, do I keep it to just books? Do I add in my ramblings about dramas and other fandoms? (Also, pretty sure I’m not that only person who goes through this)

It feels like I could NEVER just stick to books. It’s pretty much the same for my Instagram, a now-defunct bookstagram page. And I keep telling myself, it’s because I deal with it so much at work, I kinda just want to curl up all day with my laptop and a book after work. But eventually, my fingers just started itching and I feel like these are all tiny excuses.

It’s scary to put your thoughts out there but when your audience is non-existent, perhaps it’s time to take baby steps and make your mark in the scary Internet world (blame the book I’ve just read for this).Β Like for many blogs out there, I do believe page views play a huuuge part in motivating the blogger to continue, but then again, plenty of people do it just for the passion and love. I have this page set up FIVE years ago, it’s completely free. I don’t have to have a fancy little page (although I would love to), to technically start book blogging or just blogging. Hence, here I am. I will say that I’m still not quite sure if this will be a regular thing, but at least it’s a start? Heck, I’m not even quite sure whatΒ ‘it’Β really is, but for now, I guess I’ll go back to even trying to revive this little space with random ramblings. However often I can do it…

So I guess my question for those who are even reading this will be, why do you book blog or even just blog? What keeps you going?

3 thoughts on “Of Book Blogging and Uncertainties

  1. I’m definitely here for your ramblings, E! And yay, so happy you took the step towards this. =D I would love it if your branched out and blogged about more than just books.

    I blog because I’ve always liked typing out my thoughts and typing out my thoughts about books is great. But I never pressure myself about it and that’s what keeps me going. I’ve become a really sporadic blogger and that’s fine with me because at the end of the day, it’s not a duty but a hobby.

    1. Aww, thanks, S ❀ I kinda just typed this out at the spur of the moment without having any concrete plans. So I'm still not too sure what I'm even going to do after this πŸ˜›

      I tend to overthink a lot and just end up shelving a lot of my thoughts, rather than do anything else about them, so that is A+ advice! And of course, I love your blog :*

Leave a Reply

