fandom · i'm a night owl · kdramas · my mundane life · oh the feels i have · teevee

Master’s Sun Mid-drama Review

Blog revival! Yay!
Well, this is not quite a blog revival but rather a feeble attempt at blogging once again (and also to expressively fangirl over a kdrama!). It’s funny how I used to update my livejournal so often in the past, but yet I’m having such immense problems at coming back to blogging and putting my thoughts, or really just randomly typing nonsense into this blog. It has come to the point whereby I get the urge to actually post something but I eventually chicken out at actually putting a post out there on the Internet. Which is really funny because I’m pretty sure that not many people would be reading this or even if there will be a person reading this. But giving it further thought, it might be thanks to my inane need for perfection… Well, that’s another story. Without further ado, let me proceed to my main aim of this long awaited (hah) post.

I’ve recently been watching a kdrama that has ended some time ago and has garnered a pretty decent amount of hype, which was very well deserved I might add.

Master’s Sun aka 주군의태양

This drama is penned by the Hong sisters, who have pretty much gained their following with dramas like Delightful Girl, Choon Hyang, My Girl, You’re Beautiful and My Girlfriend is a Nine Tailed Fox, just to name a few. Kudos to you if you can guess which one of those I just named made it on my all time favourites list!

Master’s Sun has a pretty well known main cast of So Ji Sub playing the male lead, Joo Joong Won (L from Infinite plays the young JJW, squee!); Gong Hyo Jin playing the female lead, Tae Gong Shil and Seo In Gook as the second male lead, Kang Woo. If you’re familiar with kdramas, these people shouldn’t be strangers but to be quite honest, I’ve never been a huge fan of both main leads. Yes, don’t shoot me. They are both pretty solid actors but I’ve never seen anything from So Ji Sub, except Sorry, I Love You and Cain and Abel, and both dramas didn’t really do anything for me. And well, as for Gong Hyo Jin, I just never really found her all that attractive. Call me shallow or what will you but I usually pick my kdramas based on the casting, because really, how many kdramas have interesting storylines?

But thankfully, I’ve decided to give Master’s Sun a go, which is a first because I was attracted to the cast at all and the drama basically made me eat my words and falling in love with the story and the characters. I will give the Hong sisters credit for creating such nuanced characters in almost all of their kdramas, without losing their unique quirks that just seem to appeal to the audience, including me of course. Also, I think the main reason why I finally decided to pick this up was purely for the ‘ghost’ factor in the storyline. Ah, right. This brings me to the synopsis of the drama. /facepalms

Synopsis
The story revolves around a woman who can see ghosts and a man who tries to protect her, and is described as a drama with horror and romantic elements infused together.

Joo Joong Won (So Ji Sub) is a miserly, greedy and conceited CEO, who measures all human relationships through money. Meanwhile, Tae Gong Sil (Gong Hyo Jin) is a melancholy and tearful assistant, who is able to see ghosts after an accident and thus suffers from insomnia. She lives a very reclusive and closed-off life due to her ability.
The story is being touted as “soul healing” drama that brings together very different types of people: one who can see and hear things that no one else in the world can and another who only hears and see things he wants too. As Joo Joong Won starts to believe in Tae Gong Shil’s claim of being able to see ghosts, these two people will grow together in faith and in character.(koreandrama.org)

So there you have it. Although I will say, the synopsis is pretty crap, as I find most synopsis to be. The horror factor is pretty high in this one, I mean with the premise of ghosts and a character who sees and interacts with ghost, you can’t really run away from that. But I kind of got used to it, because it was pretty obvious that after the ghosts scared you with their initial appearance, they start to fade back to their human form and I could brainwash myself that they really are just actors who have an immensely thick amount of white makeup on. So yeah, that’s my coping mechanism when I watch this, but if you’re not good with horror, I recommend you stay far away. The one thing I did love is that we get a new mini story (with the ghosts) every say two episodes? And all of them so far, I’m only up to Episode 7, are the touching and emotional sort and I’m a sucker for those. Plus it really helps you to get over your initial fear of the ghosts.

Also, like I mention earlier, the Hong sisters have an amazing capability to create the best characters to ever grace the kdrama-verse. These are characters with hilarious quirks, one-liners and EXPRESSIONS that will probably stick with you for a long time. So Ji Sub was amazing and I think after watching this drama, I have a whole new take on the phrase “get lost/꺼져” complete with Joong Won’s hand gestures. I mean, seriously, I will just allow the gifs to speak for themselves.

Got them all from tumblr

So yep, basically just watch the show.  Like I said, I’m only halfway through but I just felt this NEED to share, I guess mainly because my friends don’t really do kdramas… And I always get these feels when I chance upon a gem. I Hear Your Voice was spectacular but that is probably another blog post waiting to happen. I may or may not do another one when I’m done with this show, but if you have watched Master’s Sun, watching or planning to watch this, do drop me a comment! I will happily switch on my fangirl mode and talk feels with you.

Toodles!
4 thoughts on “Master’s Sun Mid-drama Review

    1. And she (even though I don’t know her) is very right! You should be watching this! I love it really. It’s not too often that you get horror, romance and comedy so well done in a korean drama 😛

      You definitely have to watch this soon, or at least get it on your to watch list. Along with I Hear Your Voice, that is.

      1. OMG!!! Master’s sun was just unforgettable!!! This drama elevated So-ji Sub’s to a whole new special place in my heart!!! I recommend you watch Nice Guy! It was just….epic! Daebuk i tell ya Daebuk!!

      2. Oh definitely. I went into this drama not expecting much and it just blew me away. Daebak indeed!

Leave a Reply

