book reviews · books and more books

[Book Review] Speechless by Hannah Harrington & The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Publication Date: 28 August 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Rating: 4/5 stars

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret.

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

My (short) Review

You can be surrounded by people and still be lonely. You can be the most popular person in the school, envied by every girl and wanted by every boy, and still feel completely worthless. The world can be laid at your feet and you can still not know what you want from it.

The thing that first drew me to this book was the wonderfully simple cover that from far looks just like a blank paper. Speechless. This book is very aptly named and beautifully written. I honestly don’t quite know how to put my feelings about this book down in words as I always do the books I love.

I can cut myself some slack somes. Because I’m a work in progress. Because nobody is perfect. At least, I acknowledge the mistakes I’ve made, and am making. At least I’m trying. That means something, doesn’t it?

I think this quote perfectly sums up why I liked Chelsea so much. She starts out as a very flawed character but at the end of the book, I don’t find that she has become a saint either. Yes, I still think that she has flaws but at the very least, she did look at herself and try to change.I can definitely appreciate that.

I really loved her new group of friends as well. Asher and Andy are both pretty hilarious and Sam is just downright sweet. I also loved how the romance between Chelsea and Sam played out. The pacing for the story was pretty spot on.

How it seems so impossible that someone could look at them, see how plainly they care for each other, and find anything ugly or shameful or worthy of hatred in it, when all I see is something beautiful.

Speechless also touches on the issue of bullying and homophobia, but it was done in a way that doesn’t feel like it’s trying to shove what’s morally right down your throat. Rather, it is done in a more pensive manner which I really liked. It makes you think love, hatred, friendship, forgiveness and so much more. This was one YA contemporary that thankfully lived up to it’s hype and made me fall in love with Harrington’s writing and characters.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Publication Date: 27 April 2010
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Rating: 2/5 stars

Meet Pat Peoples. Pat has a theory: his life is a movie produced by God. And his God-given mission is to become physically fit and emotionally literate, whereupon God will ensure him a happy ending—the return of his estranged wife, Nikki. (It might not come as a surprise to learn that Pat has spent several years in a mental health facility.) The problem is, Pat’s now home, and everything feels off. No one will talk to him about Nikki; his beloved Philadelphia Eagles keep losing; he’s being pursued by the deeply odd Tiffany; his new therapist seems to recommend adultery as a form of therapy. Plus, he’s being haunted by Kenny G!

My (short) Review

Warning: This book (not review, BOOK) will spoil some classics if you have yet to read them.

1. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
2. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
4. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
5. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Alright, consider yourselves warned, now onward to my short review.

Silver Linings is one of those books that I wouldn’t normally pick up and probably wouldn’t if not for wanting to read it before I watch the movie. From the trailer, I expected a pretty light hearted book with quirky characters but what I got was really different, although not entirely in a bad way.

There were chapters that made me smile and chapters that made me teared but at the end of the day, I don’t love this book. I saw a review on Goodreads saying that Silver Linings is like an adult Perks and I guess I do agree a little. So it’s probably the case of ‘it’s not you, it’s me’ for this since I didn’t exactly love Perks either.
If you actually read this post right down till the end, yay for you and me!
I hope my reviews were at the least bit helpful and comments make me very happy, so leave me one? 😀

12 thoughts on “[Book Review] Speechless by Hannah Harrington & The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

      1. did you see the other, non-white paperish covers though? Not sure I’d have even looked twice at those haha

      2. Yep, I did. I really wish they had just stuck to this simple cover because it’s quite frankly one of the best covers out there, not just because it draws your attention but because it’s so apt for the book.

        I don’t dislike the other covers but they are so normal compared to this one.

  1. I didn’t know Silver Linings Playbook WAS a book. I’ve heard it’s all over the Oscars, but really know nothing about it. I’ve actually read all of those books it spoilers. I feel quite accomplished. *brushes shoulders off* Also, I didn’t like ANY of them. Well, A Farewell to Arms was okay, but, seriously, spoil away, book.

    I must confess curiosity as to why Speechless just got a 4. Everything’s very positive, obvi. Of course, sometimes it’s just a feeling. :-p

    1. Hah, I didn’t know either.
      Okay fine, you classics devourer. I have yet to read ANY of those (except Huckleberry) gosh. In that case, you might find yourself a friend in Pat, since he hated all of them except Huckleberry Finn. Buuut, I won’t spoil it further for you. Let’s just say the movie is really different, in a good way for me!

      Oh right, I knew there was something I forgot to include in my review! I did like it enough to put it on my favourites list but I felt like it didn’t blow me away y’know? Like what you said, it’s a feeling!

      1. Woo! Classics devourer! I like this title. if it makes you feel better, I read every single one for school. :-p

        Ah, okay. I do that sometimes too. My feelings about a book can be overwhelmingly positive, but leave me with a niggling sense that something was missing.

      2. Yes it does, but I’m nice so you can keep the title (;
        That’s the thing with schools over here, we don’t have to read classics, hah.

        Exactly what you said!

Leave a Reply

