book reviews · books and more books

[Book Review] Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Series: Under the Never Sky #1
Publication Date: 3rd January 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins
Rating: 3/5 stars

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

 

 

Favourite Quotes

“She looked up. “A world of nevers under a never sky.”
She fit in well then, he thought. A girl who never shut up.”

“It was the lion grin she’d only seen a few times. Sweet and engaging, with a hint of shyness. It showed a whole part of him she didn’t know.


My Thoughts

From the moment I set my eyes on this gorgeous book, I fell in love with both the title and the cover.

Rossi’s Under the Never Sky debuted in early 2012 with a bang and I have been hearing many good things about this book, so I’ve finally decided that now would be a good time to start, since the second book in the series will be released soon. This was one book that I excitedly dove into but emerged pretty disappointed. I honestly expected to love or at least like it VERY much and I did try my hardest to, but unfortunately, Under the Never Sky never did reach my expectations.

Storyline

UtNS is placed under the dystopian, sci-fi category which I guess is part of it’s marketing after the dystopian hype, but this book barely fits under the dystopian category. It’s definitely much more science fiction and even then, I don’t think hardcore sci-fi readers will fancy this too much. The main storyline is pretty normal, with your two protagonists from different worlds going on a journey with a somewhat similar goal, to save their loved ones. The problem lies with the world building, which is very basic. Nothing is very much elaborated on or even explained and I was left wondering if I missed out reading anything cos I simply didn’t understand how exactly Aria’s and Perry’s worlds worked. The pacing of the book started out slow and only picked up towards the later end of the book.

Characters

This was another huge problem for me and the main reason why I didn’t love the book. I don’t dislike any of the main characters but unfortunately, I didn’t love them either. Everyone’s gushing over Perry but for me, it’s like he’s sweet and really funny at times but him and Aria’s characters just fell a bit flat for me. It might be the alternating third party POV at work here that didn’t allow me to feel fully engaged with both characters but I was sorely disappointed with this.

But then ROAR happened, and all was good.
Roar was truly the highlight of the book for me (Perry comes at a close second), he made things more light hearted and was just being his awesome self. I really hope he appears more in Book 2 (with Liv!) and he does have a novella that I have yet to read, so yay for that!

Romance

One of the things that I did love about this book was that there was NO “insta-love” nor a love triangle.

I know right, colour me amazed.
The build up for Aria and Perry’s romance was pretty spot on and the pacing was well done so when they finally did get together, it felt right. But okay, that very one scene about violets? That was something that wasn’t for me, it just felt too cheesy and awkward. Everytime Perry mentioned about Aria’s violet scent, I felt a strong urge to snigger.

Final Verdict

Well, I wouldn’t strongly recommend this book to everyone but if you are in the market for a very light dystopian/sci-fi read that has an ample balance of romance and action, I would say you can check out Under the Never Sky. But quite honestly, there are other books that I find to be much better written than this. I will read the second book though, just because I’m pretty curious to see how things will play out from here. Fingers crossed that it will be much better!

Love always, E.

PS. My first book review is finally up!
If you managed to finish reading this, pleaaaase let me know what you think? ❤

14 thoughts on “[Book Review] Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. great review! I’m still up in the air about reading this one– I think if I can find it at the library it’s worth a try. Maybe the 2nd one is even better?

    1. Aww, thank you. I’m glad someone actually read it.

      I would say you can give it a try because I know many people do quite like this one. I’m crossing my fingers hoping the second WILL be better!

      1. yeah, you know, it still sounds interesting enough to give it a go. Plus I can use it in the a-z challenge I think 😀 haha

  2. I very much agree with your assessment of Aria and Perry. Though Perry’s a nice guy and I support their romance, he’s not swoon-worthy to me at this juncture. Aria I struggled with through most of the book, but, by the end, she really begins to flesh out, so I have hopes that Through the Ever Night will be a much stronger read for me.

    This is your first review? Geez. My first reviews SUCKED. Good job, E.

    1. I’ve read reviews for TtEN and I’m pretty sure it will be better than this! Partly because there’s more Roar, who is pretty much my favourite character in UtNS ❤ I've read a Roar/Aria character interview on the TtEN book tour that made me like Aria a lot more too.

      It's my first official book review, I would say? I have done a few on GR, but it was mainly me rambling away and god they suck too.

      Thank you thank you thank you for your comment! I think you just made my day 😀

  3. I have heard a lot about this book and got curious enough to get a copy. I haven’t read it though. However, based on your review, I think I won’t expect much from it. Well, it can be a light, five-seven hours worth of reading time then.

    1. It’s always good to go into a book without expecting much, since you’ll enjoy it even more if it does exceed your expectations.

      But a lot of people did like this book very much, so even if it wasn’t for me, it might be for you!

    2. Also wanted to thank you for your comment! It’s always nice to know that someone out there is spending time to read what I wrote 😛

  4. Ah, I had mixed reactions to this book, too. Funnily enough, I barely remember Roar even though so many people rave about him, hah. I’m kind of curious about where the story goes too, but I will probably wait until the series is finished before I pick it up. Nicely reviewed!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    1. Aww, really? Most of my friends liked Book 2 a lot more than the first, so it’s looking good. Thanks for the comments ❤

Leave a Reply

